--- title: "Blocking, unblocking, and closing employees' cards" slug: "blocking-unblocking-and-closing-employees-cards" description: "Freeze an employee card after suspicious activity, unblock it once it is safe again, or close it for good. Includes how to reissue a replacement card." updated: 2026-10-27T14:18:22Z published: 2026-10-27T14:18:22Z canonical: "payhawk.com/blocking-unblocking-and-closing-employees-cards" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://payhawk.com/help/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Blocking, unblocking, and closing employees' cards Payhawk allows you to block the available funds on a card by freezing it (prevent further use) if a fraudulent transaction has taken place or if the employee doesn't recognize a payment that's been made. ## Blocking employees' cards To freeze (block) an employee's card: 1. In the [Payhawk Web Portal](https://portal.payhawk.com), go to **Cards** > **All cards**. 2. Select the desired card by clicking on it. 3. Switch on the **Freeze card** toggle button. 4. In the dialog that opens, confirm your choice by clicking on **Freeze**. As a result, the name of the toggle button changes to **Unfreeze card**. ![](https://cdn.payhawk.com/Help%20desk%20images%20moved/Blocking_unblocking_and_closing_employees_cards_20250508_manual.jpg) ## Unblocking employee's cards To unfreeze (unblock) an employee's card, respectively: 1. Go to **Cards** > **All cards**. 2. Select the desired card by clicking on it. 3. Switch off the **Unfreeze card** toggle button. 4. In the dialog that opens, confirm your choice by clicking on **Unfreeze**. As a result, the name of the toggle button changes to **Freeze card**. ## Closing employees' cards > [!WARNING] > Once a card is closed, this action cannot be reversed. However, all previous card transactions will remain available in Payhawk for accounting purposes. When the Payhawk card is no longer needed, you need to close (deactivate) it. For example, if a card associated with a former employee is still active, you must close it and issue a new card under the name of the new designated employee. Note that transferring cards between employees is not permitted, regardless of internal role changes. To close (deactivate) an employee's card: 1. In the [Payhawk Web Portal](https://portal.payhawk.com), go to **Cards** > **All cards**. 2. Select the desired card by clicking on it. 3. Click on the three dots menu and select the **Close card** option. 4. In the dialog that opens, check the confirmation checkbox and click on **Close card**. As a result, the card will move under the **Closed** tab. ![](https://cdn.payhawk.com/Help%20desk%20images%20moved/Blocking_unblocking_and_closing_employees_cards_2_20250508_manual.jpg) ## Useful resources - [Freezing and unfreezing your Payhawk card](/help/freezing-and-unfreezing-your-payhawk-card)