New Payhawk offices in Stockholm and Warsaw | Learn more

Closing requests

Prev Next

Once the delivery of items or services is confirmed, a request can be automatically closed by the system or manually closed by a Payhawk Accountant or Payhawk Administrator.

Auto-closing requests

To enable the automatic closure of requests, you must enable the feature in the Settings app. The default auto-close option triggers when the linked invoices have been fully paid, meaning that the following conditions are met:

  • The status of the received quantity is FULL.

  • The status of the invoiced amount is MATCHED.

When enabled, the auto-close option will apply whether the invoiced amount is settled over a bank transfer or marked as paid manually.

If an expense is marked as unpaid or a bank transfer is reversed after settlement, the request cannot be reopened.

To enable the auto-closing option for requests:

  1. In the Payhawk Web Portal, go to Settings > Workflows > Requests tab, select [Request type], then click on Edit workflow.

  2. Open its Close step, under Auto-close, enable the When related expenses status changes toggle button to configure when this request must auto-close. If enabled, from the drop-down menu, select:

    • Reviewed option for the request to auto-close once it’s reviewed.

    • Reviewed and Paid option for the request to auto-close once it’s reviewed and paid.

  3. Click on Save.

  4. Click on Publish workflow.

    The Close step of a request workflow with the Auto-close toggle on and the Reviewed and Reviewed and Paid options.

Closing requests manually

To manually close a request:

  1. Go to Requests > Close and select the desired request.

  2. Click on Close.

  3. In the dialog that opens, click on Confirm.  

    The Close request confirmation dialog for a request in the Close tab.

Alternatively, you can close a request at an earlier step of its lifecycle:

  1. Go to Requests and select the desired request.

  2. Click on its three-dot menu and select Close.

  3. In the dialog that opens, click on Confirm.  

    A request three-dot menu with the Close option. The request instances of a recurring request show the recurring icon next to their amount.

Reopening requests

Once a request has been closed, you can still reopen it:

  1. Go to Requests > All requests and select the desired request.

  2. From its three-dot menu, select Reopen.

  3. In the dialog that opens, enter the reason for reopening it and click on Reopen.

    As a result, the reopened request will move to the Submit tab and has to be resubmitted according to the approval workflow defined for your company.  

    The Reopen request panel with a comment entered.

Useful resources